top of page
Search

7/16: Art and Aesthetics

Art has definitely played a role in shaping my experience in Japan. The paintings done by victims in Okinawa and Hiroshima have been windows into their personal experiences and emotions, giving me a new perspective on the tragedies that have happened. In this way, art has been a means of understanding Japanese history and identity in a way that goes beyond language. Furthermore, art has been a source of comfort, aestheticism, and wonder throughout my time in Japan. There are simple things, such as the clean pastel color of a staircase or a small mural drawn on the side of a building; these are precious details to me as I walk through Japan, as they give me a sense of comfort, and the attention to detail makes me feel as if people really care about the place they live in. Art in Japan has also been a new way of interacting with the world. For instance, the Cup Noodle Museum integrated shadows, life-size animation, and music into its exhibits, creating an interactive and informative environment unlike any I’d ever seen before. In the way that art has affected the way I interact with Japan itself, I feel like Japan already has taken considerable steps towards teamLab’s vision of creating a world where art becomes a functional part of the lived environment. I continually discover new ways in which Japan incorporates art into its design, from automatons advertising ramen to the beloved train station melodies. The art I have seen in Japan has definitely shaped the environment and my experience within it in a positive, enriching way.



Although I don't necessarily think the following questions have answers, I do think they're important questions to ask. So:


Firstly, as I mentioned before, I feel that Japan has already somewhat embodied teamLab’s vision of creating a world where art becomes a functional part of the lived environment. I’m curious whether this is due to Japan being at the forefront of the digital/modern age, or because Japan values aestheticism and detail (or both, or neither)?


Secondly, is there a limit to how much art should be integrated into the world? Or, in other words, is it possible to art-ify the world too much?


Lastly, the article mentioned - not in Inoko or Kudo’s words, but the words of the author - that teamLab’s art is made as a way of escaping reality. However, I feel that that is a misunderstanding of what “art” and “reality” really mean, putting them in a position where they are opposite each other. So my question is: does art infringe upon reality or is it merely a reshaping of reality?

Comments


bottom of page